LiveWire Network Peer Answers Peer Support Teen Forums Tech Forums College Forums 674 users online 225486 members 1353 active today Advertise Here Sign In
TeenCollegeTechPhotos | Quizzes | LiveSecret | Memberlist | Dictionary | News | FAQ
Member Spotlight
atla2323
Favs: Movies lotr, never back down, taken, tra...
Mood: Smart
You have 1 new message.
Emergency Help
Until you sign up you can't do much. Yes, it's free.

Sign Up Now
Membername:
Password:
Already have an account?
Invite Friends
Active Members
Groups
Contests
Moderators
4 online / 47 MPM
Fresh Topics
  LiveWire / College Forums / Financial Aid, Scholarships & Internships / Adding Reply

Quoting Post
Archived Topic: It will not be bumped to the top of the forum.
Topic Grants or Scams?
Membername   Not a member? Sign Up Free (takes 20 seconds)
Password   Forgotten your password?
Post

Font:   Size:   Color:

FAQ Keyword Search:
Post Options
Favorites Manager
Notify me of new replies to this topic by email
Notify me of new replies to this topic by private message
Original Post
joe king Posted at 7:22 am on April 1, 2008
So i've been looking for scholarships and Grants for school but in addition to finding sites like
collegegrantstoday.com
I also find sites that say almost every grant offer is a scam...  can anyone help with this? or even look at the site above to let me know if they think it looks like a scam.  Thanks so much    

Replies
dreamweaver Posted at 9:27 pm on April 2, 2008
If you even have to pay for anything, even for a book with information- most likely it's a scam. There are companies that prowl on the fact that students are desperate looking for ways to pay for college and will do almost anything for even a penny of the profit.

If they ask for credit card information, SSN, money, or bank information- don't fall for it and let them scam you. They don't need that information.

joe king Posted at 8:01 am on April 1, 2008
thanks. your probably right. I may just sign up just to see what I get but cancel it before i get the package  ah ha ha ha
Al Legator Posted at 7:34 am on April 1, 2008
No-one does anything for nothing. esp. if it ends with .com.  $4.00 probably just opens the door to them and you'll be on the hook or pressured into something else. My advice is to ask the college(s) you are interested in about this site and others, and abotu what's available from them. Something smells fishy here.
joe king Posted at 7:31 am on April 1, 2008
Not really. It just says it'll be like 4 bucks to ship me something and thats it. My friend got ripped off for like 100 bucks before so i'm just just a skeptic now ha ha
queenbutterflykisses Posted at 7:24 am on April 1, 2008
if they ask 4 too much then maby yeah
All 5 previous replies displayed.