LiveWire Peer Support Network

Printable Version of Topic "POINTS if you're Good with Computer Tech Stuff?"

- LiveWire Teen Forums & College Forums (http://www.golivewire.com)
-- (http://www.golivewire.com/forums/support-technical.html)
--- Computer Virus & Anti-Virus Software (http://www.golivewire.com/forums/forum-209-s-0.html)
---- POINTS if you're Good with Computer Tech Stuff? (http://www.golivewire.com/forums/peer-seaoby-support-a.html)


-- Posted by meghank91 at 12:44 pm on Nov. 18, 2007

Alright so I keep getting this pop-up thing just about every time I click on anything and it looks like this:

I think I got some sort of virusy-type thing but I don't have the slightest clue what to do about it. I did a quickscan of my computer with my anti-virus software but nothing was detected. Anybody have any idea? I'll give you 70 points if you can help me get rid of this thing.

By the way, if I click okay it tells me to download some spyware thing that is clearly fake. It's called "ieDefender-setup.exe"


-- Posted by Tubbz at 12:45 pm on Nov. 18, 2007

ok basically, it's a form of spyware, download AVG and it'll go


-- Posted by marshmellowman at 12:45 pm on Nov. 18, 2007

Download AVG-Free antivirus and Spybot Search and Destroy. Run both of those and they should clean it off.


-- Posted by silverrose42 at 12:45 pm on Nov. 18, 2007

It's a pop-up, upload a different type of antispyware, and it should go away...


-- Posted by Meep123 at 12:46 pm on Nov. 18, 2007

What program is giving you that error message?

That is not a windows message.


-- Posted by ctthenerd at 12:46 pm on Nov. 18, 2007

run avg, ad aware, spybot


-- Posted by SammySunshine at 12:46 pm on Nov. 18, 2007

DEMON!
DEMON!
*screams*


-- Posted by klir at 12:46 pm on Nov. 18, 2007

it could be spy-ware or could have just hidden so your antivirus couldnt dettect it it may be in your sytem files hiding as something else, but dont go deleting stuff if you dont know what it is or does


-- Posted by Hosko at 12:46 pm on Nov. 18, 2007

It's an advertisement from a spy ware company, its bollox, close it. Try to navigate to Google and download a Pop-Up-Blocker to stop the nuisance.\


-- Posted by andrewcool at 12:46 pm on Nov. 18, 2007

Its spyware and could be adware. Download AVG. Plus I think this is the wrong forum to post this stuff in. Tech Forum should be the right one.


-- Posted by tipsypixy at 12:47 pm on Nov. 18, 2007

It is an ad...don't worry about it....


-- Posted by Miss MarieTM at 12:47 pm on Nov. 18, 2007

It is actually just an advertisement for a anti-spyware program. Or furthermore, a pop-up designed to "look" legitimate and professional enough to make you think you have a virus, so that you will download their "most likely" pricey spyware.

Do you have a pop-up blocker installed?


-- Posted by Meep123 at 12:47 pm on Nov. 18, 2007

Quote: from Hosko at 3:46 pm on Nov. 18, 2007


It's an advertisement from a spy ware company, its bollox, close it. Try to navigate to Google and download a Pop-Up-Blocker to stop the nuisance.\


Yeah that's what I was thinking. It's making up a trojan that you don't really have for you to click it and buy their software.


-- Posted by bmartn2008 at 12:48 pm on Nov. 18, 2007

Download Windows Defender


-- Posted by HXC at 12:48 pm on Nov. 18, 2007

Spybot Search and destroy is your best bet. link to the site---> http://spywarebot.com/?hop=advanced99&p=3&gid=1072645447&oid=&aid=


-- Posted by meghank91 at 12:49 pm on Nov. 18, 2007

Quote: from Meep123 at 3:46 pm on Nov. 18, 2007


What program is giving you that error message?

That is not a windows message.


Idk! I'm not good with computers when they have problems


-- Posted by Tubbz at 12:54 pm on Nov. 18, 2007

it's spyware causing that message you need spyware removal not antivirus


-- Posted by marshmellowman at 12:59 pm on Nov. 18, 2007

Quote: from HXC at 8:48 pm on Nov. 18, 2007


Spybot Search and destroy is your best bet. link to the site---> http://spywarebot.com/?hop=advanced99&p=3&gid=1072645447&oid=&aid=

Spybot S&D is totally different to the SpywareBot link you posted.

The actual link is: http://www.safer-networking.org/en/index.html


-- Posted by Ju5tin at 1:05 pm on Nov. 18, 2007

Oh man, I think I had that EXACT same virus... I think.

When I had, I just ran AVG and Norton and it tracked down the infected file, so I just deleted the file, since it wasn't a directory key or anything... If you do track down the infected file and you plan on deleting, LET ME KNOW FIRST!!

J5


www.golivewire.com